Thoughts – July 18th, 2013 #ASMSG

This afternoon I played mini golf with Little A. and we had tons of fun. It was hot though on this open terrain, no shadows, no wind and the sun relentlessly burning. It was at least 32°C (some 90° F) and after a few minutes I was soaking wet, sweating like a pig.

Playing mini golf

I was happy my back didn’t hurt that much anymore but bending over and picking up the golf ball wasn’t easy and now, sitting at my desk, I feel a throbbing pain in my lower back and my right hip. Nothing some Ibuprofen based drug can’t coop with.

Last Friday, at the Cohi Bar where we take our Salsa lessons, Princess pointed at a small chest-of-drawers tucked away in a corner and told me she liked it. Indeed, it was elegant and nicely sculptured without being to over the top and the owners had painted it in dark red.

I suddenly got an idea but kept it to myself.

Yesterday I visited a local second-hand store where I’ve found some candle holders in the past and I had my mind set on some more. I am a sucker for candlelight ever since I saw Barry Lyndon, the 1975 movie by Stanley Kubrick. The salon scenes only illuminated by candles were so beautiful and so soft and so damn romantic. Hell, I was 16 and eagerly waiting for Her to come. Little did I know I would have to wait another 36 years before Princess finally appeared in my life.
Trust me, it was worth waiting, oh yes it was!

I did find some candle holders I knew also would please Princess and then, in one of the corridors I saw IT.

The small chest-of-drawers was tucked away between some bigger ones and it drew my eye immediately although not old or antique.

I made a photo with my smart phone and showed it that same evening to Princess and asked if she liked it and if it would fit in her room in a far and distant future, when I would finally move in with her.
She nodded in an affirmative way.
“What are you going to do with it?” she asked.
I smiled because I knew what I wanted since she pointed out the cabinet in the Cohi Bar.

“You know, Princess, I am keeping all our toys in a few black boxes. It would be great having this to store them in a better and more accessible way. A drawer for each type of toy, you know rope, pinch stuff, paddles and floggers.”

She smiled and I knew she loved the idea.
“You have a devious mind, Milord,” she told me.
Princess knows me so well.

So after we played mini golf I took Little A. to the second-hand shop and acquired the chest-of-drawers. Little A. didn’t say much except pointing out she didn’t like it and she did not want me to buy old stuff for the living room.

Chest-of-drawers

Fatherly I patted her on the shoulder and assured her it would not be the case and added it was for Princess’ and my bedroom.
“Okay,” she pouted and that was it.
Little A. did well on her exams and ever since a new add-on to the Sims 3 came out, it is called Exotic Island, she hasn’t stopped reminding me it is available on the market.

So after I got the cabinet I took her to a toy-store and even when I halted in front of the computer games Little A. was not aware of my intentions.

“Fuck,” I told her, “I need something to unwind, nerves you know, I need some intense computer game.”

Little A. looked at me in disbelief. She has never seen me play a single game on a computer. It is something I don’t do, I don’t like and I hate. It is a useless way to spend your time.

In a provocative way I pointed at some war games and asked my daughter if she thought they where violent and bloody enough to entertain me.
The poor thing shrugged her shoulders telling me she had no idea.

“Holy guacamole,” I suddenly yelled, “fuck, I want THIS game!” pointing at a certain The Sims extension pack.
“Do you think this is any good for your old man?” I asked.
Little A. beamed at me, didn’t know what to say, hugged me and thanked me a zillion times.

It feels so good, so wonderful making her happy, as it is so incredible doing the same to Princess.

Back home I managed moving the cabinet from my car’s trunk to the second floor where I live using the staircase because there is no lift.
Put it in my/our room and decorated it with two candles and a bowl.
Yes, an antique porcelain and stamped bowl.
One that has a story attached to it.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts – July 18th, 2013 #ASMSG”

Leave a Reply

