Aphid

I picked a dandelion with the intention to make some macro photographs. While setting things up I saw two plant lice (Aphids) sitting on the stem.

Quickly I changed gear and made this shot with my D300 (it has a relatively clean sensor compared to my D2h, a bellows, some extension tubes and the Sigma 180mm macro. Light is provided by a SB-800 powered down by 1 1/5 stops.

After taking some images I mounted my Olympus E-PM1 on the lens and filmed the lice moving. I haven’t had the opportunity yet to watch the footage yet.

Aphid

Leave a Reply

