A question

“Stop the car,” I yelled.
Big A. immediately hit the brakes and I was happy to notice she didn’t forget putting the gear in neutral.
“Holy crap Pops, what is the matter? Do you want me to have a heart attack?”
Big A. really was pissed and I couldn’t blame her. Learning to drive is hard enough without having some madman sitting next to you screaming like hell.
I smiled and apologized.
“Sorry my firstborn. This was just some stupid exercise and you did well, you stopped and didn’t forget to shift your gear.”
“Thanks,” she answered, “but why stop here?”
I pointed to a set-aside terrain.
“I want to collect some twigs and grasses.”

Patiently Big A. waited and after a few minutes I climbed back into the car.
“Let’s drive, beloved daughter.”
And she just did that.

Half an hour later I dropped Big A. off at her mother’s place and before she got out she inquired if I was going to ask Princess The question.
“Sure as hell,” I nodded.
“Good luck old man. Keep me informed.”
Big A. smiled and gave me a big hug. Then she was gone.
For different reasons Princess and I can’t live together yet but we are looking forward to the day we can. It is merely a matter of time.
We promised each other we would spend the rest of our life together, for the better and the worse, and this bond, this promise is carved, indelible, in both our heart and soul. And one day, in the future, I will ask for her hand.

While I waited for Princess, she would spend the night at my place, I made some photographs.

The she arrived and I took her in my arms and I held her and kissed her and gazed into her beautiful eyes, warm oceans of immeasurable love.
We sat down, Princess and I, and I took her hand.
“My love,” I asked, “would you be my fiancé? I know we can’t live together or marry and it may take a few years for us to get there, but I wish to say, to show, that I will be forever at your side. That my heart, my soul, my body belongs solely to you. You are my everything, my partner, my best friend. My Love.”

She smiled and bend forward and moments before our lips touched she murmured “Yes, I do. You and I,  my love. Forever.”

Grass

Leave a Reply

