Heron

Last summer I often went photographing in the woods not so far from where I live.
While approaching a pond I suddenly came face to face with a heron.
I spotted him before he did and I quickly moved behind a tree where I checked my camera, equipped with the f4 100-300 Sigma, a superb piece of glass.
I took a deep breath and calmly peeked from behind the tree. The bird was still there, minding his own business. Slowly I moved my camera to my eye, focussing and then pushed the shutter release.

Click the camera said, but I had the impression it sounded more like an explosion.

The heron suddenly became aware of my presence and just after I took a second image he flew away.

It was a short but memorable encounter as we were separated by no more than 20 meters.

Heron

One thought on “Heron”

Leave a Reply

