The King is dead. Long live the King.

My trusted Canon G10 died unexpectedly. Found it broken in my briefcase.

I needed to replace it and opted for a 4/3 camera with interchangeable lens. Value for money was an important aspect, image quality a second and photographic possibilities a third.
Today I acquired a Olympus Pen E-PM1 and it is my third camera from this brand. The Camedia C-21 was in fact my first digital camera; I bought it in 2000, a few weeks before I became a father for the second time.

Later on I owned an Olympus E-20 and for its time it was an awesome camera until I dropped it once too much.

So now I have the E-PM1 and I haven’t done much with it except unpacking it and charging the battery. It comes with the 14-42mm f3.5-5.6 kit lens. I’ll probably buy a prime lens in the not so near future.

The camera is very small yet if feels very comfortable in my hands.

Image quality, even at ISO 1600 is wow and so is sharpness and contrast. The possibility to crop your viewfinder to 6×6 is great. The photographic filters are fun but I prefer working on originals.
One thing though and I hate this so much I don’t have words for it… when I extract the battery and insert it again the camera has lost the date settings. Horrible.
Made only two shots for this blog.

An image of my iMac keyboard at ISO 1600.

Keyboard - 1600 ISO

A 60″/f16 exposure from my window, photographing the infamous “30” with, off course, a tripod.

30 once again

More later on as I’m really exhausted, had only a few hours of sleep, third night in a row. Need to catch up.

Leave a Reply

