The Advent

Thursday, December 27th.
23:35.
I got a call from Princess.
“She is finally there,” she whispered.
“O wow,” was the only thing I could say and I felt a deep connection with Princess and her eldest daughter who I’m just getting to know.

Princess told me how she had cut the umbilical cord, the emotions she had experienced assisting her daughters delivery.
The baby was healthy and the mom was doing okay.

After our telephone conversation the first thing I did was enter the baby’s name in my agenda, under “birthdays”.

I was so happy for Princess and her daughter.

Friday, December 28th.
Picked up Princess at her home in the early evening and we drove to the hospital.
It wasn’t only a simple visit but I would make some photographs for the birth announcement card too.

When I watched Princess holding the baby in her arms, Princess’ eyes finding mine, I felt so damned moved. Then she handed this little and helpless being over to me and I almost cried, overwhelmed with emotions. Holding this small creature in my arms, I wished I could go back in time, just a few years. Having a kid with Princess. An impossible dream alas.

It was really an intense evening and the baby was hungry and tired afterwards so it slept all the time and I wasn’t able to make a good portrait.

Princess told me her other daughter, B., had made some pictures in the early afternoon and the baby had its eyes open at that moment.
“Good,” I replied, “maybe we can use these. I would love her images on the birth announcement card. It would be a mutual project.”
B. is one of Princess’ three remaining kids having issues with their mother’s relation.

I drove Princess home and she invited me in, well, just in the hallway.
Everything starts somewhere.

Then she entered the living room and I heard vague voices. Princess asking B., for the photographs she had taken that afternoon.
Silence.
Then Princess appeared with B.
I had not expected that at all.

“Hi,” I said.
“Hi.”
B. patiently showed me the images she had taken.
Fuck, they were really excellent.

“It would be nice to use one of your images,” I said.

To my great astonishment, B. opened her camera, took out the memory card and handed it to me.
It felt awkward taking the card home with me so I asked B. to mail the images.
She nodded yes and went back to the living room.

I was flabbergasted.
What an evening.
Holding her daughters baby, sharing photographs with her other daughter while I was in the hallway.
It felt as an incredible huge step.

We kissed goodbye. It was a long one and very intense.

Then I went home were Little A. was patiently waiting for her father.

Yes, this had been one helluva evening.

Thank you Princess, for sharing these important and magical moments with me.
I love you so much.
Princess and I.

Without words
Without words

4 thoughts on “The Advent”

  1. Great to hear that the birth of this baby brings you closer to her children whom you mentioned before that they didn’t much accept the relationship between you and their mum!

  2. What a beautiful post. I am so glad things are progressing. Looking forward to what the future may hold for you all. Best of luck to you.

Leave a Reply

