Cap Blanc Nez

A famous landmark at the Opal Coast is Cap Blanc Nez, near Calais. On top is an obelisk commemorating the Dover Patrol, which kept the Channel free from U-boats during World War I.
For reasons I cannot explain this place got under my skin. It has something magical, desolate but is also the symbol of a rich history.
When I’m up there I hear James Cagney yelling “Made it, Ma! Top of the world!” (White Heat, 1943).

During our first weekend together I showed Princess around the Opal Coast and of course we visited Cap Blanc Nez.
She knows we won’t be returning there for years to come. She doesn’t mind though as she already knows that the second time she’ll be up there I will propose.

I know Princess will say “Yes” without hesitation nor the need to be whipped. Well, you can’t have it all.

Leave a Reply

